The Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County (HOC) was established in 1974 to better respond to the County’s need for affordable housing. HOC is authorized to acquire, own, lease, and operate housing; to provide for the construction or renovation of housing; obtain financial assistance from any public or private source to assist its housing activities; and arrange for social services, resident services and day care.

HOC has creatively responded to the changes that affect the production of affordable housing. As federal subsidies for affordable housing were slashed, HOC sought and found other ways to produce housing that is affordable in the County.  Because of this, HOC is considered a national leader in developing affordable housing.


Mission Statement

The mission of the Housing Opportunities Commission is to provide affordable housing and supportive services that enhance the lives of low- and moderate-income families and individuals throughout Montgomery County, Maryland so that:
  • No one in Montgomery County is living in substandard housing;
  • We strengthen families and communities as good neighbors;
  • We establish an efficient and productive environment that fosters trust, open communication and mutual respect;
  • We work with advocates and providers to maintain support for all the work of the Commission.

To achieve this mission, HOC operates as an affordable housing agency, a housing finance agency and a housing developer.

The Montgomery County government provides funding for the Commission to manage the following service programs:

  • Affordable Housing Development: acquires Moderately Priced Dwelling Units (MPDUs) for rental to lower-income families;
  • Public Housing Management: maintains community norms and relationships between homeowner associations and public housing residents;
  • Services to Residents in Assisted Housing: provides counseling and support services to low-income individuals and families in assisted housing; and
  • Housing Resource Service: provides up-to-date information on available housing programs.


Executive Staff

Chelsea J. Andrews         Executive Director  Matt Husman  Chief Logistics and Facilities Officer 
Kayrine V. Brown            
Deputy Executive Director


 Director of Property Management
Nathan E. Bovelle          
Chief Maintenance Officer

Zachary Marks                           

Chief Real Estate Officer
John Broullire                
Director of Risk Management

Patrick Mattingly       

 Director of Human Resources

Darcel Cox                     

Chief Compliance Officer

Aisha Memon   

 General Counsel

Tim Goetzinger             

Chief Development Funds Officer/
Acting Chief Financial Officer

Fred Swan           

 Director of Resident Services

Lynn Hayes                 

Director of Housing Resources
Karlos Taylor              
 Chief Technology Officer 

Bonnie Hodge             

Chief Ombudsman Officer